This charming and welcoming park is home to the beautifully restored St. James’ Cottage Hospice. Burrard View has ample space for throwing a ball, playing tennis, or going for a stroll; the original cottage foundations are now grassy platforms for picnicking and contemplating the views of Burrard Inlet and the North Shore.
Named for the beautiful inlet this pretty park overlooks, the inlet was given its moniker by Captain George Vancouver. There is some controversy whether Vancouver meant to name it for Sir Harry Burrard, 1st Baronet, or his nephew Sir Harry Burrard-Neale. Family members decided that Captain Vancouver meant to commemorate the 1st Baronet, Sir Harry Burrard.
This park was formerly home to the Children’s Aid Society which was built in 1924. By 1934 its use had changed to a Juvenile Detention Centre for boys and girls and then it was transformed into the Vancouver Family Court. In 1993 when the Family Court moved to Robson Square Court House, the Provincial Government turned over the adjacent property plus its building to the Park Board.
In 1999 the former Babies Cottage from 1924 was lovingly restored by the Saint James Cottage Hospice as part of the St. James Community Service Society. Many rooms in the cottage’s lower level are open for community use through bookings at Hastings Community Centre.
The park was officially named on December 12, 1930.